top of page
corpublication

COR'17 | RnR & Farewell


Just like that, our 9-day service trip to Myanmar was coming to an end... Of course, to reward ourselves for all the hard work, sweat and tears we put in, it was time for some RnR!!

The programmers had our RnR day all planned out and we started the day at a teashop called the Lucky 7 teashop for breakfast!!

The breakfast was hearty as we could spend with no qualms about budget :P.

After which, we went to the Floating Pagoda, the Bogyoke Market, Karaweik Hall & Kandawgyi Lake and Chinatown in the evening!

I guess all the information does not really matter, because at the end of day, our main takeaway from this trip is all the memories we hold dear to our hearts, the fun times as well as the hard times. Once again, featuring the 4 groups of COR'17 above!!

Personally I will always remember things like the ultimate friendzone of COR history.. and my sunken ship of these two on top! HAHA

As well as Atlantis' AWKWARD FLY *look at Bernie's AWKWARD expression (left)*

And through this trip, bonds were forged, friendships were tightened.

After each year of COR, I feel that we are always reaching for newer heights.

Our chairperson Sadrina was the one who roped me into this project. Going back to 1st day I met Sadrina, I met her at the CCA booth and saw her talk with so much passion for the Deaf community. After getting into COR'17, I learnt that she was in COR for 3 years (some real commitment here) and in this photo above, she told me that this scene with a rainbow has occured to her for each of the service trips in the past 3 years. I managed to capture this moment, and this was one of my favourite shots of the trip.

It really showed that some things were meant to happen.

Be it being deaf, or a rainbow every time you go for a RnR, things are meant to happen one way or another. We just gotta embrace our situation and live our lives to the fullest! A little preachy but this was something I felt after the trip! Sadrina, you are such an inspiration (as well as many of our COR volunteers) and I want to someday find a cause that I feel as much passion for, as you do for the Deaf community!

Before long we were at the airport in Singapore... I thought I wasn't going to tear up (told myself I wasn't going to) but guess what happened when I see the faces above. The tears wasn't really because we were sad to leave each other, but it comes with the flashback of the collective effort we put in as one COR for the past 1 year which culminated to this very moment.

Well, for most of us it was for that, but our Hui Hsian (middle) may be crying as she is no longer in school! haha

At the end of the day, we are glad that we went as 1 COR and came back as 1 closer COR!! Everyone was healthy and safe, or in any case, healthier! Just wanna say a huge thank you to every single COR member and volunteer in this year's trip! Everything was possible because of each and every one of you! Here's to an even better COR'18 this year (although i doubt it, as COR'17 is da best!) And to those staying for the 2nd year, I thank you guys from the bottom of my heart for your commitment to the community! See you guys soon~

Click here for more photos of our RnR!!

64 views0 comments
bottom of page